About Us & Contact

Stay up to date about NJF activities – follow NJF on twitter and LinkedIn!


NJF member faculties and local representatives

Representing the future of Swedish research, NJF aims to give this important group of researchers a strong and collective voice when addressing politicians, research funding bodies and the public. Currently, NJF collectively represents over 3000 members (i.e. postdoctoral fellows, researchers and faculty members) across Sweden. 

Each NJF member faculty sends representatives to the bi-annual meetings. The steering board consists of these representatives, an elected chairperson, and several vice-chairs who rotate twice a year among the local organisations. The current NJF chair is Grant Kemp and vice-chair is Nicole van der Burg.

NJF Working Groups

The majority of the work that NJF undertakes is accomplished through working groups composed of local representatives. Currently NJF has the following working groups:

NJF Survey Working Group (Chair Justin Westerfield)

Conference follow-up/Webinar Working Group (Chair: Grant Kemp)

Bylaws Working Group (informal)

UKÄ working group (informal)

Overview of NJF member faculties and local representatives:

Karolinska Institutet, currently represented by Shireen Sindi, Lina Marcela Diaz-Gallo, Sebastian Lewandowski, Aleksandra Sjöström-Bujacz, and Georgios Sotiriou

Linköping University, currently represented by Rosanna Chung, Cristina Martinez-Serrano, and Jose Gabriel Martinez Gil

Lund University, currently represented by Nicole van der Burg (current NJF vice-chair) and Njainday Jobe

Örebro University, currently represented by Carolin Zorell

Sahlgrenska Academy at Gothenburg University, currently represented by Cecilia Engdahl and Alessandro Camponeschi

Stockholm University, currently represented by Ane Metola, Lovisa Lundholm, Justin Westerfield, and Grant Kemp. (current NJF chair)

Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU), currently represented by Ramesh Vetukuri and Anita Norman

Umeå University, currently represented by Johan Henriksson and Barbara Sixt

Uppsala University, currently represented by Theodora Kunovac Kallak, Lisa Borjesson, and Laia Caja


History of the National Junior Faculty

In the fall of 2014, six universities founded the National Junior Faculty (NJF) at a first joint meeting at Karolinska Institutet. These six included Sahlgrenska Academy at Gothenburg University, Karolinska Institutet, Linköpings University, Lund University, Umeå University and Uppsala University. In 2017, Örebro University and Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU) joined. In 2018, Stockholm University joined the NJF.

Until 2018, both the chair and vice-chairs rotated twice a year among the local organisations. In February 2018, Sara Hägg was elected as the first NJF chair who was sitting for three terms. From September 2019 to September 2020, Mo Segad was the chair of NJF.

We thank all previous NJF steering board members for their valuable contributions.


Contact NJF: